Regions of Cuba

Overview Regions
  • Camagüey
  • Ciego de Avila
  • Cienfuegos
  • Granma
  • Guantánamo
  • Havana
  • Holguín
  • Isle of Youth
  • Las Tunas
  • Matanzas
  • Pinar del Río
  • Sancti Spiritus
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Villa Clara
  • Other Offshore Islands

Villa Clara

The Villa Clara province is famous for the fact that it is where the remains of Commander Che Guevara lie. Che is a mythical figure in Cuban history, remembered for leading guerrilla troops in combat in furtherance of the Cuban Revolution.

As the second largest producer of sugar in Cuba, along with other crops, particularly tobacco, this province plays an important part in the local economy. This mainly agricultural area of Cuba has very attractive beaches especially in the north, which include Coralillo, Panchita, Carahatas and Carabarién, to name a few.

The region’s natural beauty can also be enjoyed further south at the Hanabanilla mountain resort in the Escambray Mountains.

One of Cuba’s four universities is located in the province’s capital, Santa Clara.