Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


You will find this region in middle of France, enjoying a continental climate. The most important part of the region is undoubtedly the well known Loire Valley, renowned for the fine wines it produces (Sancerre, Valençay, Vouvray and Montlouis to name a few) and its wonderful cheeses. The area is so fertile thanks to the many rivers crossing it, such as the Indre, Cher, Beuvron, Sauldre, and Allier Rivers.

Architecturally, this region is filled with fine examples of the different historical styles used throughout the centuries in especially in the palaces and castles, châteaux in French, that are scattered all over the region. Some châteaux to visit while here include the Chambord, Chenonceau, Blois, Villandry, Chaumont-sur-Loire and Talcy châteaux, as well as the Château de Beauregard and Château de Chamerolles.