Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


Sharing borders with Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany, this French province has seen a rich blend of varying cultural influences throughout time. In one of Lorraine’s four departments, German is spoken along with French. It is currently linked to other major European cities such as Berlin, Amsterdam, Brussels, Milan, and Basel by rail.

Water is abundant in Lorraine, with over 700km of navigable waterways, on which water-sports enthusiasts come from all over to sail, wind surf and ride in motor boats. The soil, rich in salt and minerals combined with mountain springs are rumoured to have curative powers. The backdrop to the rolling fields dotted with rivers, lakes and streams, is provided by the Vosges mountains, a blue hue in the distance. All these natural resources are taken advantage of: fishing is widely practices and salt and coal is mined. Many hops are grown alongside the traditional vineyards, as Lorraine has many breweries.