Spanish Authors

Spanish Authors
  • Miguel de Cervantes
  • Benito Jerónimo Feyjóo
  • Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer
  • Antonio Machado Ruiz
  • Federico García Lorca
  • José Ortega y Gasset
  • Gonzalo de Berceo
  • Juan Ruiz
  • José María de Pereda
  • Vicente Blasco Ibáñez
  • Pío Baroja
  • Anonymous writers

Vicente Blasco Ibáñez (1867-1928)

Ibañez was a Spanish novelist and polititian born in Valencia. He became involved in politics early on in life, joining a republican movement which was opposed to the monarchy. Editor of a radical republican journal, El pueblo, he was imprisoned a total of 30 times for his political activities. He served as a Republican Party deputy in the Spanish Parliament. His first successful literary production was entitled La Barraca (The Cabin) published in 1898, a novel depicting social injustices of rural Valencia. Other important works include Cañas y barro (Reeds and Mud) in 1902, La Catedral (The Shadow of the Cathedral) in 1903 and Sangre y arena (Blood and Sand) in 1908. His masterpiece and most famous piece of work was entitled Los cuatro jinetes del Apocalipsis ( The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse) issued in 1916, a war novel that put him in the international public eye. He died in 1928 in voluntary exile.