Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


Located in central France, just southwest of Paris, this marvellous region is best known for its incredible wines. Some of the most important wine districts here in Burgundy are Beaune, Nuits-Saint-Georges, and Chablis, the latter being the place where a yearly festival of regional wines is held every fourth week of November. Some of the best wines in France are produced here, including Pommard, Chablis, and Meursault to name a few.The region’s capital, Dijon is a town renowned for its mustard.

The climate enjoyed here is continental weather and conditions are usually ideal for chartering a hot air balloon to see the countryside in a somewhat different manner. The region is filled with waterways, rivers and canals along which one can also enjoy Burgundy’s landscape on barges or boats.

Historically the region was very important, especially in the Middle Ages when it was the seat of not only intellectual but also religious authority. The medieval city of Vézelay is where in 1190 the king of England, Richard the Lionheart met with the king of France, Philippe-Auguste, to begin the Third Crusade.