Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


The word Champagne is recognized throughout the world and its very mention is associated with parties, toasts and evokes ideas of celebration. This north-eastern French region is world-famous for its champagne production. This glamorous frothy wine is produced in this area with continental climate sharing the border with Belgium. It is known for its rolling landscapes, large forests and many rivers, lakes and streams. The name of the region derives from the Latin ‘campagna’ which means countryside. Its natural wonders provide for excellent leisure activities such as golfing, horse riding and many water sports.

Champagne-Ardenne is a very sacred place, known originally for French the royal coronations that took place in the Reims cathedral. Nowadays champagne plays the leading role in the region, with the so called "Champagne route" taking visitors through localities like Reims, Troyes or Épernay, where it’s possible to visit wineries and caves or underground galleries in order to know the champagne making, storing and maturing process. This is also a chance to buy a bottle at a good price. Logically, the landscape is dominated by the endless vineyards, although to the north of the region are the abundant Ardennes forests.