Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


One of the largest regions of France, Midi-Pyrénées is situated in the south-western part of France and has varying landscapes as one sweeps from north to south. In the north, are the wooded hills of the Dordogne while in the centre it is the river valleys that predominate the landscape. Down south rise the majestic peaks of the Pyrenees. Dotted with romantic and quaint medieval villages, it has a wonderful display of architecture of varying styles, including Romanesque, Gothic and Renaissance. It boasts fine art museums and even prehistoric caves.

Agriculturally, this is a very fertile region, producing a whole range of products such as what, soy, sunflower and maize crops to other produce such as strawberries, plums, peaches and apples. Such a bountiful agricultural production has led to its fantastic cuisine and regional dishes. Home of the original Roquefort cheese, it also specializes in truffles, duck dishes and foie gras. Local wines are excellent and one cannot miss out on trying some Armagnac, the famous golden coloured brandy, held in high regard by connoisseurs.