Regions of Cuba

Overview Regions
  • Camagüey
  • Ciego de Avila
  • Cienfuegos
  • Granma
  • Guantánamo
  • Havana
  • Holguín
  • Isle of Youth
  • Las Tunas
  • Matanzas
  • Pinar del Río
  • Sancti Spiritus
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Villa Clara
  • Other Offshore Islands


This province makes up the famous archipelago which is formed by the following islets: Coco, which in actual fact is part of the neighboring Ciego de Avila province, Romano, Guajaba and Sanibal. The region is close to the second most important barrier reef in Latin America, the first being in Belice.

With a generally flat topography, Camagüey is ideal for cattle grazing: both beef and milk varieties are bred here. Camagüey’s main vegetation includes palm trees and sugar cane plantations, given its fertile soil.

Camagüey, the province’s capital is the most medieval of all Cuban cities due to the layout of its streets, which are fairly narrow and winding, usually ending up in small town squares. This labyrinth-like layout was originally created out of fear of ambushing pirates.

While learning Spanish in Cuba, do some sightseeing and discover this charming Cuban province.