Regions of Cuba

Overview Regions
  • Camagüey
  • Ciego de Avila
  • Cienfuegos
  • Granma
  • Guantánamo
  • Havana
  • Holguín
  • Isle of Youth
  • Las Tunas
  • Matanzas
  • Pinar del Río
  • Sancti Spiritus
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Villa Clara
  • Other Offshore Islands


The province of Granma is located in the south-eastern part of Cuba and aside from fabulous varied landscapes, it has an extremely rich historical and cultural tradition. Granma is where the national anthem was first heard and an unbelievable 48% of Cuba’s historic sites are to be found here, a region which was granted the title of National Monument.

Its main city is named Bayamo and was founded in 1513 by the Spaniards. In October 1868, it was declared the capital of the Republic in Arms, when the Independence Wars began. By 1869, with the ominous possibility of falling prisoner to the Spanish military forces, the Bayamo locals decided to burn the city, leaving only ashes of what once was.

Granma’s natural beauty, a combination of sea, mountain and rich fertile plains attract visitors, which contributes to the region’s growing tourist industry and the pleasant views and landscapes blend in nicely with the well preserved historical center in Bayamo.