Regions of Cuba

Overview Regions
  • Camagüey
  • Ciego de Avila
  • Cienfuegos
  • Granma
  • Guantánamo
  • Havana
  • Holguín
  • Isle of Youth
  • Las Tunas
  • Matanzas
  • Pinar del Río
  • Sancti Spiritus
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Villa Clara
  • Other Offshore Islands


Guantánamo is found at the very eastern end of Cuba. A deeply contrasting area, its territory includes mountains, semi desert landscapes and some of the island’s most wild and uncharted land. This province is one of Cuba’s least visited destinations yet it is actually a place of great interest.

Guantánamo is probably best known for the fact that the US naval base is situated here, on Guantánamo Bay, a few kilometers away from the city.

Undoubtedly the most interesting tourist destination in Guantánamo is Baracoa, a magical little town which to this day has preserved the numerous colonial forts and other historical sites from times long past. Some great places to see here include Fort Matachín, Fort la Punta, Fort Seboruco and fortified towers of Joa and Caguase. All these were built as part of the defense mechanism against invading pirates. The town’s outskirts feature forests and a general landscape that was there during colonial times, helping to preserve that feeling of stepping back into the past.

The town’s full name, Nuestra Señora de la Asunción de Baracoa was founded in 1512 by Diego Velásquez and became the first Episcopate of Cuba. The Cruz de la Parra, which is believed to be the first Christian symbol found in Cuba can be found in the town’s church.

It is particularly interesting for visitors to come to Baracoa during the first week of April, when locals celebrate and commemorate General Antonio Maceo’s disembarkation in 1895, an event which marked the beginning of the the War of Independence, with energetic and lively street parties.