Regions of Cuba

Overview Regions
  • Camagüey
  • Ciego de Avila
  • Cienfuegos
  • Granma
  • Guantánamo
  • Havana
  • Holguín
  • Isle of Youth
  • Las Tunas
  • Matanzas
  • Pinar del Río
  • Sancti Spiritus
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Villa Clara
  • Other Offshore Islands

Las Tunas

Las Tunas is located in Cuba’s North-Eastern sector and has around 265 kilometers of irregular coastline dotted with pristine unspoiled beaches. This region has only recently become an increasingly popular tourist destination. Officially founded in 1759, legend has it that in the 16th century a shipwrecked Spaniard named Alonso de Ojeda managed to get himself to dry land and salvage a statue of the Virgin Mary while he made it to the shores of what today is known as Las Tunas. He vowed to offer the statue to the first village he came upon so that a church may be built in her honor.

Las Tunas also has cultural significance, which makes it a wonderful place to add on an itinerary. It is considered as the Cuban capital of sculpture, given the countless monuments and other pieces to be found there. Economically, the region depends mainly on sugar production and cattle raising. Tourism, while not one of its main sources of income just yet, has been on the increase.

Great places Las Tunas has to offer visitors include the provincial museum General Vicente García, the historic settlement Puerto Padre which began growing since 1860. The Bahía de Malagueta is home to a host of birds, making and ideal spot for avid bird watchers. Some of the species to be found include pink flamingoes, ducks and pelicans, among many others.