Regions of Cuba

Overview Regions
  • Camagüey
  • Ciego de Avila
  • Cienfuegos
  • Granma
  • Guantánamo
  • Havana
  • Holguín
  • Isle of Youth
  • Las Tunas
  • Matanzas
  • Pinar del Río
  • Sancti Spiritus
  • Santiago de Cuba
  • Villa Clara
  • Other Offshore Islands

Sancti Spiritu

The most central of all Cuban provinces, Sancti Spiritu has both Northern and Southern coastlines, on the Atlantic Ocean and Caribbean Sea respectively.

Before tourism, Sancti Spiritus’s main source of economic income was the sugar and tobacco plantations.

The provinces most attractive feature is without a doubt Trinidad, a beautiful and historic city. Famous for its streets paved with dye-colored stones (ochre, blue, green or pink) and dating back to the 18th century, Trinidad has been declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. Its colorful streets all meet in the historical center in the Plaza Mayor, where the Santísima Trinidad church stands. The San Francisco convent and Brunet palace, constructed in the 18th century, are also to be found here and evidence the architectural splendor of this charming city. Other interesting sights include the old 18th century inns, the Jigüe tree growing in the Plaza Real, and the old San Francisco de Asís convent, housing a peculiar Museum of the War against Bandits and the Privateer House, constructed to lodge the captain of corsairs, Carlos Merlin.

Visitors will find some of Cuba’s most splendid beaches on the outskirts of Trinidad.