Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


The region known as Alsace is situated on France’s eastern border, flanked on the east by the Rhine river and the Black Forest. Alsace was once part of the German duchy of Swabia and was also absorbed into the Holy Roman Empire. The region remained German territory until in the 17th century, when the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 finally ended the Thirty Years’ War. Alsace was then placed under the sovereignty of France, under Louis XIV. During the two world wars Germany annexed the region.

To the west of the region lie the Vosges Mountains, which provide breathtaking landscape of majestic forests and beautiful lakes. The terrain is perfect for hiking and mountain biking enthusiasts. With a lot of influence from its German and Swiss neighbours, the region is filled villages made of typical wooden houses that remind one of fairytales; a favourite national dish is choucroute (sauerkraut) and beer flows freely. This is also a region that produces wonderful wines. There are seven Alsace wines, six of which are white and one rosé. The Alsatian region enjoys a semi-continental climate.