Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


Auvergne is an administrative region found in the centre of France, characterized by a very unique volcanic landscape. The extraordinary volcanic mountains, together with the lava flows and lakes make for a unique environment that draws many to see its charms. Mainly an agricultural region, the region’s land is used for crop growing and animal husbandry. The mountain and continental climate prove ideal for cultivation on this rugged plateau of granite and lava stone.

The region’s capital, Clermont-Ferrand is an important centre for manufactured goods and the region also boasts a host of ancient buildings and architecture, some even dating back to ancient times when Celts inhabited the area. The Romanesque churches are great favourites of the visitors passing by the region, as are the Renaissance palaces and medieval castles.

Auvergne is an ideal region to visit if you’re an outdoor enthusiast; you will be able to enjoy all sorts of activities from hiking, mountain biking, skiing and rafting to hang gliding. The region’s lakes offer the change to participate in water sports such as canoeing, fishing and sailing. There are also many springs here and numerous spas and health centres have been developed around them, for those who enjoy more relaxing activities.

As an area renowned for its cheeses, you cannot pass through Auvergne without trying some of its most famous blue varieties, such as Fourme d'Ambert and Bleu d'Auvergne.