Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


This area of France obtained its name from the Lemovices, a Gallic tribe that once inhabited the area before the Romans came, and for a while during Roman occupation as well. In the 16th century, it came under Frankish rule.

A region with a wonderful natural setting, it has everything from forests, to lakes and rivers to open plains and fields filled with heather. Its rich, fertile pastures are perfect for raising the well-known Limousin beef cattle, renowned throughout Europe.

The region’s capital is Limoges, which is the historic and commercial centre of the region. Limoges porcelain is famous throughout France as one of the regions traditional products. This porcelain has been produced here ever since 1771. Other products to consider include Aubusson tapestries.

Local lifestyles and customs can be enjoyed by all visitors with the many fairs, fêtes, concerts and traditional festivals held in this region.