Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


Located in the very north of France, sharing a border with Belgium, and just a small leap across the Channel from England, the Nord-Pas-de-Calais region features a variety of interesting landscapes, ranging from meadows and marshlands to woodier areas with forests and lovely hills. Windmills are one of the countryside’s characteristics, as is the long stretch of coastline. The gentle hills make the area ideal for cycling and a network of waterways called the Regional Natural Parks, make it ideal for cruising down the river, as well as other aquatic sports.

The Nord-Pas-de-Calais region is one of the liveliest and entertaining regions of France. The locals are proud of the many traditions of the area and are always ready to celebrate. Visitors to the region will delight in the fairs, fêtes, parades, carnivals and fanfares that are held regularly here. It also has a deep historic heritage, evidenced in the many ruins, monuments and structures that can still be found around the region. Some of the regions culinary goodies include the seafood and the locally brewed beer.