Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


Situated on the Atlantic, the Pays-de-la-Loire region has a coastline stretching out for 400 km with sandy beaches and charming coves and bays tucked in between. Inland flows the river Loire, irrigating the lush green vegetation found in the region’s vast countryside. The region is just what nature lovers look for. Sporting and leisure activities are very popular here, with wonderful places to go hiking.

Architecturally, there is also much to see, as this was a part of the country that was always very popular with the royals. Kings and nobles had many of their elegant and magnificent châteaux built throughout this region, which are still standing today, restored and usually open to the public. Abbeys and mansions can also be spotted throughout the countryside. Some of the region’s cities to see include Nantes, Angers and Saumur. The latter is home to the “Cadre Noir”, headquarters of the famous National Horse and Riding School.