Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


Picardy is a region with a particularly important religious and historical heritage. This is allegedly the place where France was born, when the first capital of the Franks was established in Soissons by Clovis, in 486. It is an area renowned for its Gothic cathedrals and other architectural treasures which include abbeys, churches and castles. UNESCO has declared Amiens an architectural heritage site.

Enjoying a varied landscape, with lakes, rivers, forests and marshes, Picardy even has a strip of coastline with sandy dunes and beaches, as well as cliffs.