Regions of France

Regions of France
  • Alsace
  • Aquitaine
  • Auvergne
  • Brittany
  • Burgundy
  • Centre-Val-de-Loire
  • Champagne-Ardenne
  • Corsica
  • Franché-Comté
  • Île-de-France
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Limousin
  • Lorraine
  • Midi Pyrénées
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais
  • Normandy
  • Pays-de-la-Loire
  • Picardy
  • Poitou-Charentes
  • Provence-Alps-Côte-d'Azur
  • Rhône-Alps


A region with both historical and contemporary elements, the Rhône-Alps region is known for its diversity. Located in France’s south east, it features a mountainous terrain, with the highest peak in Europe, Mont Blanc, and also four national parks, namely Vanoise, Pilat, Ecrins and Vercors. Also boasting picturesque lavender fields, vineyards and lakes, this region of France also offers the visitor with breathless landscapes to take in. Not only wonderful views but also natural and wilderness activities and sports can be enjoyed here.

Historically, the region holds a lot of interest thanks to the remains of past cultures, such as the traces left behind by the Gallo-Romans, the inhabitants of medieval times and other periods. Having undergone many advances as the times went by, there are currently nine universities, a score of business schools and research centres featuring high technology.