Regions and Cities of Germany

German Cities and Regions
  • Bonn
  • Cologne
  • Hannover
  • Mannheim
  • Munich
  • Stuttgart
  • Weimar
  • Wiesbaden
  • Berlin
  • Hamburg
  • Bavaria
  • Baden-Württemberg
  • Hesse
  • Lower Saxony
  • North Rhine Westphalia
  • Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Schleswig-Holstein
  • Thuringia
  • Frisian Islands
  • Harz Mountains


Baden-Württemberg is one of the 16 states of Germany and ranges third largest in both area and population among the country's sixteen states. It shares borders with France and Switzerland and is also limited by the fellow German states Bavaria, Hesse and Rhineland-Palatinate.

Baden-Württemberg covers the south-western portion of Germany and is one of the most attractive and most visited by tourists. Some of the sights include the idyllic Black Forest, Lake Constance, the Rhine and Danube river valleys and the Kaiserstuhl mountains. Stuttgart, the state capital, is a modern city, proud of its Liderhalle concert hall and the Wilhelma Zoo.

The Mannheim area is labelled "the German squared town" as it was created by Frederick of the Palatinate in 1607 as a geometric urban center. The major cities of Baden-Württemberg include Friburg of Brisgovia, close to the Black Forest, Heidelberg, Ulm -with its cathedral and the highest bell tower in Germany -, Karlsruhe and Tübingen.