Regions of Mexico

Overview Regions
  • Northern Mexico
  • Central Mexico
  • Southern Mexico
  • Baja California Peninsula
  • Yucatan Peninsula

Central Mexico

Mexico’s central region is made up of the following states: Colima, the Federal District - Mexico City and surrounding area, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, State of Mexico, Michoacan, Morelos, Nayarit, Puebla, Queretaro, Tlaxcala and Veracruz.

Central Mexico is an immense, elevated plateau, with the two mountain ranges, Sierra Madre Occidental and Sierra Madre Oriental, bordering the plateau on the east and west. Outside these mountain ranges lie the coastal plains and lowlands, looking out to sea. Mexico’s center is found on what is known as the Altiplano Central, which also extends into the northern part of the country. The terrain on the central plateau has hilly features with many broad valleys providing ideal conditions for agricultural activities and cattle raising.

The Tropic of Cancer cuts right through Mexico, close to the cities of Mazatlán and Ciudad Victoria. Below this ‘line’ the weather is humid and very hot during almost all of the year, with seasons being defined as the wet and dry seasons. The wet season (the hottest time of the year) begins in May and continues until October while the rest of the year is somewhat drier.

Mexico’s central region is the most densely populated as some of Mexico’s most important industrial cities are found here, such as Monterrey and Guadalajara, aside from the country’s capital, Mexico City.

Discover Mexico's rich culture by taking a Spanish Language Course in Mexico.