Regions of Mexico

Overview Regions
  • Northern Mexico
  • Central Mexico
  • Southern Mexico
  • Baja California Peninsula
  • Yucatan Peninsula

Southern Mexico

The states making up the southern region of Mexico include: Campeche, Chiapas, Oaxaca, Quintana Roo, Tabasco and Yucatan. Southern Mexico begins south of the Altiplano Central, covering northern and central portions of the country.

Mexico curves from northwest to southeast and it is its southern region that the mainland narrows to the Isthmus of Tehuantepec, between the Gula of Campeche and the Gulf of Tehuantepec, and then continues northeast to form the Yucatan Peninsula.

The two main chains of mountain ranges, the Sierra Madre Occidental and the Sierra Madre Oriental come together in the south of Mexico, in a region called La Junta, where they both make up the Sierra Madre del Sur or Cordillera Neovolcanica, the volcanic chain of mountains running east-west. This volcanic belt contains several active volcanoes such as Volcan de Fuego de Colima, Paricutín, Nevado, Chichinal and Popocatepetl.

Toward the west on the Pacific is a strip of coastal lowlands, with Acapulco being an important tourist center in this area. Eastwards stretches the Sierra Madre del Sur across the Guerrero and Oaxaca states. The terrain in this region is extremely varied, with very different climatic and topographic conditions. This makes it possible to engage in a wide range of agricultural activities depending on those different features.

Some of the main agricultural activities being developed in the south include sugarcane, coffee, cereals, tobacco, fruit and vegetables and in some parts conditions are ideal for cattle raising. There are also forests to be found in some states which produce woods and dye woods. Mining is also a main activity in several southern states with some of the most important minerals including gold, silver, zinc, coal and iron.

Enjoy the weather here by taking a Spanish Language Course in Playa del Carmen.