Regions of Mexico

Overview Regions
  • Northern Mexico
  • Central Mexico
  • Southern Mexico
  • Baja California Peninsula
  • Yucatan Peninsula

Yucatan Peninsula

The Yucatán Peninsula is situated on the eastern side of Mexico with the Gulf of Mexico on its western side, and looking out to the Caribbean Sea on the eastern coast. The peninsula is made up of the states of Yucatán, Quintana Roo and Campeche.

The land on the peninsula is low lying and flan, with a tropical savanna and climate down south and drier up north. The northern tip is actually a very arid and desert-like region. This part of the country was the first to be discovered by the Spaniards, who actually stumbled upon it unintentionally in 1511 due to a hurricane.

The Yucatán Peninsula features an infinite number of monuments and archaeological sites tracing back to Mayan times, that allow one to travel back to pre-Hispanic times and get a glimpse of what the cultural and lifestyle was back then. Famous sites attracting many tourists from all over the world include Chichén-Itzá, Uxmal, Cobá, Tulúm, Edzná Chacmul, Palenque Bonampak, and Cumal-calco among others.

Our Spanish Language School in Mexico is found in Playa del Carmen, on the Yucatán Peninsula, so come and discover the wonders on display!