Spanish Authors

Spanish Authors
  • Miguel de Cervantes
  • Benito Jerónimo Feyjóo
  • Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer
  • Antonio Machado Ruiz
  • Federico García Lorca
  • José Ortega y Gasset
  • Gonzalo de Berceo
  • Juan Ruiz
  • José María de Pereda
  • Vicente Blasco Ibáñez
  • Pío Baroja
  • Anonymous writers

Antonio Machado Ruiz (1875-1939)

This Spanish poet and playwright, born in Seville in 1875, was one of the most eminent members of the famous Generation of 1898. At a young age, he moved to Madrid to study and at 18, published is first literary creations which were in prose. His poems would not surface until some 8 years later.

He then moved to France where he studied at the Sorbonne and became a French teacher. He was named a member of the Real Academia Española in 1927. When the Spanish Civil War broke out, Machado was forced to leave Spain for France, where he settled in the city of Colliure and where he remained until his death in 1939.

Some of Machado's most famous works include Soledades, galerías y otros poemas (1907), and Campos de Castilla (1912).