Spanish Authors

Spanish Authors
  • Miguel de Cervantes
  • Benito Jerónimo Feyjóo
  • Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer
  • Antonio Machado Ruiz
  • Federico García Lorca
  • José Ortega y Gasset
  • Gonzalo de Berceo
  • Juan Ruiz
  • José María de Pereda
  • Vicente Blasco Ibáñez
  • Pío Baroja
  • Anonymous writers

Benito Jerónimo Feijóo y Montenegro (1676-1764)

One of Spain's most important philosophers of the 18th Century, this Spanish Benedictine monk was born in Casdemiro, Orense in 1676. He became an abbot at the San Julián de Samos monastery in Oviedo, Asturias, in 1690. He was one of the main figures in introducing the Enlightenment in Spain and taught philosophy and theology for around forty years. His work clearly reflected his forward thinking and his ideas on freedom, reason and scientific knowledge. He made critical observations of the ideas and superstitions of his time and while very influential, his writings were also faily controversial. Fortunately, King Ferdinand of Spain was an admirer and issued a royal decree in protection of the monk. Feijóo wrote clearly and simply, aiming to reach as wide an audience as possible. He died in 1764.