Mexican History

Overview History
  • Pre-Hispanic Mexico
  • Pre-Classical Period
  • Classical Period
  • Post-Classical Period
  • Spanish Conquest and Colonial Period
  • Towards Independence
  • War with the U.S. and Recolonization Attempts
  • The Mexican Revolution
  • The Zapatista Movement
  • Mexico Today

US War and Recolonization Attempts

The following twenty two years were very unstable and chaotic, with the presidency changing hands 36 times and corruption flowing freely. In 1836 Texas broke away from Mexican rule and a war with the US followed in 1846. During the next two years, Mexico lost a great deal of territory to the US., including Texas, Colorado, Utah, California and most of New Mexico and Arizona, ceded in virtue of the Guadalupe Hidalgo Treaty.

There were also problems domestically among the different political leaders and a rebellion by the Mayas also caused problems in 1840. Heavy indebted to Spain, Britain and France, Mexico faced yet another problem when the French decided to colonize Mexico under the Austrian archduke, Maximilian of Habsburg, This led to another war and after a reign of 35 years, he was overthrown in a bloody affair led by forces that supported Mexico’s former president, Benito Juárez, a Zapotec from Oaxaca.

Juarez tried restoring order and after unsuccessful elections the Congress of Mexico declared him president. Díaz, a defeated candidate staged an insurrection but failed. He later revolted again and successful this time, assumed leadership. He ruled as a dictator from 1878 to 1911, banning political opposition, free elections and free press. This led to the Mexican Revolution in the 20th century.